“Improving an existent sign”

Our task was to choose one of the signs from previous lessons that we thought can be improved, and changing it—but purely illustratively, with no words, symbols and numbers.

The original image and my 1st sketch
The original image and my 1st sketch

I chose signage of a portable cafe in front of a church near Spitalfields Market, as I thought that the font was terrible, and the whole sign could do with an improvement.

Trying out different things
Trying out different things

I came up with an idea of actually using a coffee up (since that’s the name of the cafe…), and collaging it with real coffee beans.

Working out the colour of different elements
Working out the colour of different elements

I decided to add a “wallpaper” background after all, and used some decorative paper and acrylic paint to achieve what I wanted.

Final sketch
Final sketch

At the end, I was quite happy with the outcome, although looking back, I could have experimented more with the actual cup.

Real stuff

Real stuff

Adding background "wallpaper"
Adding background “wallpaper”
Final image. KInd of simple.
Final image. Kind of simple.

Once finished, we had to present it to the rest of the class, together with all our other “signage” work. I think I’m getting more confident with these mini “public speaking” sessions.

Presentation of one of the students
Presentation of one of the students
Nock from Nous Vous presenting the new brief
Nick from Nous Vous explaining the new brief
Leave a Reply

