“Wrong turns”

Sometime in November, we’ve been given a new project, which was to be finalised on 15th of December. We had to create “an edition” of a number (any number counts, actually…) of sellable products, based on our visual research of the Local Universe so far.

I knew straight away that I was gonna screen-print some tote bags, since I really wanted to get more into screen printing, and I loooove tote bags. I’ve ordered fifteen bags in five colours.

I’ve thought long and hard about what design to put on them, but the answer wasn’t coming easily. I was interested in the beautiful African fabrics in Middlesex street near Spitalfields Market, but I didn’t get further than taking a few pictures.

IMG_9683

IMG_9672

IMG_9675

IMG_9677

My idea wasn’t going forward, so I decided to move on and look into an aspect of Local Universe which I enjoyed drawing—architecture. It was windows in particular that interested me the most. I took a huge number of photos, and when I got home, one of them instantly took my attention. It was this one:

DSC_4507

I liked the way the white frame gave so many possibilities to play with. So I started vibing:

Scan-2
Experimenting…
Scan-1
… I liked this, and played about with different sizes and drawing tools.
Scan-3
As above, this one is still going around the same idea, just larger. However, someone said that it has too much resemblance with Stick’s work, which I thought was actually true. It’s so cute though!
Scan-7
Moving on, I tried to simplify, and get further away from Stick, while still keeping the “human look”. I wanted to add the house number too.

I also tried a few other ideas, exploring a possibility of creating a pattern out of some interesting window shapes.

Scan-4

Scan-6

Scan-5

Nothing was really working…

At this point I started getting stuck. I wasn’t convinced about the original  “window/human” design, and got some ideas about perhaps just using a set of windows from different eras, informing people about visual history of architecture. Except—I had no idea what I was talking about.

So, off I went—library time. I managed to actually learn something about windows, and was able to more or less recognise Victorian, Georgian, Edwardian and other “window” periods (forget the order, it’s all gone now!).

I even went on a very boring and unsuccessful trip to the Geffrye Museum to help me with this (read about it here: https://katarinajakcsiova.wordpress.com/2016/01/07/geffrye-museum-visit/). That trip was the last drop, and made me clear on what I don’t want.

My last architecture design!
My last architecture design! Ignore the text.

Eeew, I was done with this. This subject was so dead! Above is the last architectural idea I produced, before I finally found a subject that suited me much better. Only a week before the deadline!

Read about it in my next post.

 

Leave a Reply

