“Right turn—the finished project!”

Yes, I know I’ve been dragging it across like three posts, but it did take ages to get to this. Here it comes at last! Well, if nobody else, at least my mum has been waiting for ages to see the final product. For you, mum! 🙂

And yeah, it is well long once again… but I put the close-up of the outcome as my feature image for the unpatient ones.

First of all, when I got bored to death (nearly) with the windows, I thought about my most exciting options again, and decided to focus on the Whitechapel Market. It’s bursting with life, colourful, and yammee (everything windows are not). I was either gonna do a silhouette shot of the actual market, or vegetables. So I started by capturing some inspiration.

DSC_4637

DSC_4666

DSC_4676

DSC_4653

DSC_4679

I drew some veggies with my Prismas.

Scan-9

Scan-10

Scan-11

Then with ink and watercolour.

Scan-12

Scan-13

I also tried some market scenes, from imagination.

Untitled-1

Scan-16

These confirmed my choice—veggies. So I started vibing on the bag design.

Scan-19

Scan-18

Scan-17

I bought a bag of veggies on my way to uni, and photographed them in the studio. Then edited and manipulated them in Photoshop, and eventually I came up with this design to be screen printed on the tote bags.

final-veggies-layout

Choosing the colours.
Choosing the colours.
My colour "plan".
My colour “plan”.
Mixing grey.
Mixing grey.
Printing!
Printing!
Printed…
Printed… I mixed that pink by the way!
More screen shots, they are so cool.
More screen shots, they are so cool.
DSC_4732
Tadaaaa!

A weekend trip with the kids to an art shop for some great paper, and half a day of experimenting and dealing with my humble home printer… and I had these tags to cut out nicely and hang on the bags. Went for natural white-light beige colour though.

Scan-21

Finally I got to the finished product…

DSC_4854

DSC_4827

DSC_4824

I sold two of them on the first day, with a discount though for a tutor and a student (hilariously, the student paid with some Cafe Nero hot drink vouchers).

They sell for 8GBP (can never work out the pound sign on this keyboard…) by the way, unless you’re at the Cass, in which case it’s 5GBP. They come with a Bangladeshi recipe on their tag. I got great feedback about them, and some recommendations about how to sell the remainder of them, which I will follow.

I also got a few “thumbs up” for the chillies, and may make a chilli-only design if I get a chance.

Let’s see what happens! Hope you like them at least as much as I do.

 

 

Leave a Reply

