“Screen printing workshop”

Going through my images and getting into the mood for catching up with my blog, I bumped into a folder full of photos from this great workshop. This was my second screen printing intro (one a year…), which I did back in December while completing my “Editions” project.

Damian took us through a (rather long, but amusing) “health & safety” talk, and demonstrated in great length and with plenty of enthusiasm the process of screen printing. Some of it was familiar, as I already went though it once a year ago with another technician. However, the process is pretty complicated, and so brushing up was necessary.

Here he is doing his thing:

DSC_4480
Looking at a few other print processes.
About identifying the right screen.
About identifying the right screen.

I wrote it all down, but will not bore you with photos of the whole process. Instead, let’s have a look at some (in my opinion, great) art from previous students:

DSC_4514

On the wall.
On the wall.
Love. It.
Love. It.

DSC_4529

Pretty fox.
Pretty fox.
Torn pieces of paper!
Torn pieces of paper!
Great colours.
Great colours.

Lastly, I’ll sneak in some lovely photos of the place:

This cabinet says it all...
This cabinet says it all…
"Our" screens.
“Our” screens.
BEAUUUUTIFUL ink...
BEAUUUUTIFUL ink…

I’ve promised myself to come back soon. I haven’t been yet, as it’s soooo time consuming! I’m sure I’ll find an excuse to do some printing in near future though…

 

Leave a Reply

