“Editorial illustration workshop”

This interesting workshop started with Rachel asking us to create a number of different sheets of paper. We rubbed oil pastels on a rough table to get the texture, painted acrylics in various colours, and added all kinds of marks on top. We then had to re-create the same scene from our chosen article six times, using collage.

I found it to be quite fun, except that I left my Pritt Stick at home, and my neighbours’ stick was close to running out (and eventually did run out), so some of my collages were not actually stuck to the paper… However, it did give me some good ideas for our editorial brief, and I might even use it for creating my final piece.

Here are a couple of shots from the day:

The two closest images at the bottom are mine.
The two closest images at the bottom are mine. Neon pink is my new colour!
Hayley and her work.
Hayley examining her work.

I must say, I do like editorial design so far, as it’s quick and kind of simple…

Leave a Reply

