“Selfridges” Santa disaster (and a few smoothies)

Today we paid a visit to Selfridges, the well-known shopping centre in Oxford Street. I was welcomed from the street by terrible window installations—Santa in each one. I am not a big fan of Christmas, and I think this has made it even worse.

Seriously?
Seriously?

After coming in, my impression has improved when seeing the cosmetics/perfume hall, as it was nicely styled.

The nicer parts.
The nicer parts.
Mirror display... bit dirty though.
Mirror display.

Next was the food hall. I had high expectations, as many years have passed since last time I was here, and I couldn’t quite remember it. It was certainly much nicer (and more expensive) than the average supermarket, but I felt that the plastic shelves displaying the products were not doing it any favour. They felt cheap. The areas which did have wooden or other shelves looked way more stylish, and I wondered why they were mixing up all these types of materials instead sticking to one that works best (wood!). There were many different displays, but in general, I wasn’t impresssed.

I can’t quite remember where have I put my standards so high regarding shopping halls. I guess it could have been Westfield in Stratford which I visit often, however, these people need to shape up. It’s supposed to be one of the high end places for shopping, isn’t it?

The fridges.
The fridges.
I'm trying...
I’m trying…
Still trying.
Still trying.
Some cool packaging.
Some cool packaging.
The bakery section was decent.
The bakery section was decent.
I didn't get any. Must have been a fiver.
I didn’t get any.
The shop had a Christmas/Halloween theme.
The shop had a Christmas/Halloween theme.
Confectionary section. The eyes are probably edible.
Confectionary section. The eyes are probably edible.
Sweets!
Sweets!

Well, I managed to make some photos trying to bring out the “exclusiveness” of this place, but with a fridge like that…

Leave a Reply

